What is the Importance of GIA certified emerald

gia certified emerald


GIA certified emerald is a gemstone that has undergone a rigorous examination by the Gemological Institute of America. Certified gemstones have been discovered to be genuine. Gemstones certified by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) can be made into jewellery or used for various purposes. Emerald is a type of mineral referred to as Beryl. Colourless, red, purple, and green, to name a few, are among the many colours available in this category of gemstone. True emeralds, on the other hand, are exclusively found in green stones. Green colours may vary depending on where the gem was discovered. They come in a variety of colours and can be translucent or transparent. GIA certified emerald is a buyer must look for when investing in an expensive gemstone like an emerald. 

Why should one prefer GIA certified emerald?

You want to make sure that the emerald or emerald jewellery you bought is genuine. You'll find emeralds with a certificate. However, before you get into the idea of having a certificate, you should learn about the different sorts of certifications, their purposes, and the expenses associated with them. Gemstone certifications are classified into one of three categories:

  • The vendor, jewellery brand, or jewellery store generates and issues a Certificate of Authenticity.

  • A private, for-profit lab that is not linked with the seller, jewellery brand, or jewellery store issues a Certificate of Authenticity.
  • An impartial nonprofit lab, such as the Gemological Institute of America(GIA), issues a gemstone grading report.

If you want a graded gemstone, look for an emerald that has been certified by an independent nonprofit lab like GIA. 

Importance of buying GIA certified emerald

The Gemological Institute of America, or GIA, is a nonprofit organisation that trains jewellers and people who want to work in the business. It also provides an assessment of natural, unmounted emeralds that have not been stabilised. Synthetic emeralds and mounted emeralds are not eligible for GIA certification. Color, clarity, cut, and carat weight are the four qualities of an emerald graded by the GIA. These characteristics are known as the 4 Cs, and jewellers normally advise purchasing stones with the maximum potential level of each component. The form, cutting style, colour, clarity, carat weight, dimensions, and mineral type of the gemstone are listed on a GIA certificate. It also includes information on any treatments that have been applied to the gemstone. A GIA certificate provides different physical characteristics and certifies the gemstone's quality. The GIA certification also gives the buyer peace of mind and allows them to compare two gemstones. It's essential if you want to insure or assess your jewellery.

  1. Colour is measured in natural emeralds using three criteria: hue, tonal grade, and saturation. The tonal grade determines the degree of darkness or lightness of green present in the diamond. There are several different green tones in natural emeralds, including Very Light, Light, Medium Light, Medium, and Medium. In our emerald colour chart, you can examine the differences in actual natural stones. The tone of a good emerald will be in the Medium to Very Dark range. Emeralds, on the other hand, can fit within any of these groups. The tonal grade alone does not establish an emerald's genuine quality. The hue of an emerald relates to the type of green it has. A genuine emerald, for example, could be described as "bluish-green" or "yellowish-green." Colombian emeralds are the most common emeralds on the market today, and they have a "bluish-green" tint.
  2. The clarity of an emerald refers to how the gem appears on the inside. Emeralds are distinguished from other gemstones by their clarity. Inclusions in most emeralds are minute pieces of gases, other minerals and crystals, and liquids that the emeralds absorb during the crystallisation process. For colourful gemstones, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) established three clarity types. Type 1, Type 2, and Type 3 gemstones are among them. Emeralds are naturally classified as Type 3 gemstones.
  • Type 1 gemstones are usually free of inclusions or practically free of inclusions.
  • Type 2 gemstones: These gemstones are frequently found in jewellery.
  • Type 3: Almost always, these are included.
  1. The faceting, shape, width, and depth of an emerald are all defined by its cut. An emerald should ideally be cut symmetrically with consistent facets to maximise colour and brilliance. If the emerald is sliced too deeply, the light will escape through the side and the emerald will appear dark. The emerald will not appear dazzling if it is cut too shallowly, as the light will be wasted at the bottom of the stone. The "emerald cut," a rectangle or square step cut, is intended to maximise the rough contour. Because this is the most popular cut, the term "emerald cut" has stuck, even when applied to other gems.

These elements combine to help determine the value of diamonds within specified ranges, ensuring that they are as constant as possible. Because many other laboratories have less stringent requirements, choosing disparities between grades is more challenging. Numerous professional gemologists assess every emerald to achieve the most precise results possible, as there is little space for error in the process.


Explore Iris Gems GIA Certified Gemstones Online 

Iris Gems offers a wide range of exquisitely crafted gemstones in every colour of the rainbow. 

Buy the best quality Gia Certified Gemstones at an unparalleled price. No middle man and provide our customers premium-quality jewellery at an exceptional price. 



gia certified gemstones


To shop GIA Certified Gemstones click on the above  image and select your favourite gem from various collections! 

GIA certified emerald is the right choice

The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) is a globally recognised and highly regarded grading laboratory. This is significant because GIA certification makes it extremely clear to jewellers where an emerald ranks in cost and demand. GIA certified emerald has the greatest potential investment for the consumer because their popularity helps to keep their worth for years to come. Despite popular perception, not all gemstones are certified, and distinguishing one loose emerald from another can be difficult just on general paperwork and close look. To verify that your report number matches the actually graded emerald, GIA will now laser-inscribe the emeralds they certify. If you are unsure about buying or setting a gemstone, this is a great way to find out. Many other labs have since adapted and changed the original colour and clarity scales to reflect their foundation of comparison